Posted in Diary, The Alien

In the new eyes of mine

Me: I lost my phone today.


John: For real?!


Me: Yes.


John: You don’t look sad.


Me: I’m crying inside.


John: … Should I laugh?


Me: Go on.


John: No, for real, though. How did it happen?


Me: A man took it from me when I was about to get off from the bus. He sat alone on the backseat and looked like taking something behind my back and moved quickly on his seat when I turned my head to him. I didn’t notice it, but the man indeed looked suspicious now that I think about it.


John: Did you tell your parents about it?


Me: Of course. Nobody’s home at that time, so I called them.


John: Were they angry?


Me: No. My mom told me to call my father, and my father told me to be careful next time.


John: Your family is indeed very calm about it.


Me: Well, not really. My mom asked me if I could still remember the man’s face, and my father seemed to plan his own investigation. Haha.


John: How can you keep your composure like that? I mean, well, that’s your only phone and there are a lot data inside, right? Don’t you worry that the man would steal your data or something?


Me: I did, right after I realized that I lost my phone. But, then, after I called my parents, I felt better. My mother’s first reaction soothed me.


John: What did she say?


Me: Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji’un. We belong to Allah and to Him we shall return. You may not agree with me, but once she said it, everything felt just fine. When my father asked me if there were important data in the phone, I remembered that my phone had just been reset, so there were not much important data, and all of them have been backed up in my laptop. So, I don’t lose that much.


John: And that’s how you can keep calm about it.


Me: Yes. I regret things, still, but I know I can still move forward. Lessons learned. I was too naive, and without this incident, I might never realize it. Haha.


John: That’s a positive perspective you have there.


— This is a real incident, and it just happened yesterday. Even I was surprised by my own calmness. I could still laugh and be happy all the time, despite the loss.

I know, such criminal act must be stopped, because other people may not be as lucky as me with no important stuff inside their belongings, but the point in my story is about how I should be cautious without being paranoid. I think it’s my nature, to think that if I am friendly to everyone, even strangers, they won’t do bad things to me. But this incident open my eyes. I can be friendly to strangers, but I must be aware of my surroundings too.

It’s good to have parents like mine, and friends like mine. They calmed me and they advised me without blaming me, because the last thing I want is to be blamed by many people, more than once, that I have made a mistake. There are a lot of lessons from this incident that I can learn. Now I don’t know if I should thank that man or pray for him as a victim of his act.

[via The Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender]

Author:

'Cause all I wanted to do is be the Bruce Lee of loose leaf / Abused ink, used it as a tool when I blew steam [Eminem - Rap God]

Leave a Reply

