Posted in Photo, Space, The Alien

Snake, wall, or spear?

Around two weeks ago, my brother was assigned to create a painting on a cutting board. His teacher said that the theme is “nature,” so I suggested him to paint a cat’s paws and its tail, as cats are a part of nature and he likes them (well, basically everyone in our family is fond of those cute creatures πŸ˜€ ). However, then, he told me that his teacher demanded something like flowery ornaments to emphasize the “nature.” I think it’s weird, because when you’re talking about nature, then anything around us can be painted. In my opinion, nature is not only about flowers and leaves. Well, at the end, to make a balance between my opinion and his teacher’s, my brother painted cat’s paws in the middle of the cutting board and added some flowery ornament on the edge. He did a great job. The cutting board looks really cute, so I don’t have anything to complain.

That painting, for some reason, led me to create this triptych. At first I wanted to create a triptych with cat’s paws and tail, just like the declined concept my brother and I had designed. But, then, I thought about a triptych I previously created on Instagram, and suddenly I ended up using elephant as my model instead of a cat. The elephant picture is taken from elelur.com, while the background is taken from everystockphoto.com. I only put the picture together, then cut them into three.

I made this not without meaning, though. I was inspired by the story of Blind Men and an Elephant, which basically tells about point of view and looking at something as whole, not only parts. That is why I put the elephant’s tail, body, and tusks in my triptych. I am probably also affected by the way my brother’s teacher defines nature. Maybe both she and I have different point of view of nature, or probably we haven’t seen nature as a whole, so actually we don’t really understand the nature. Come to think of it, I have been confused by several debates happening around the world recently. Things are getting more complicated. Who can be trusted? How to differentiate between the truth and the lies? Hmm, this requires a deeper thinking, and I don’t think I’m going to do it right now. πŸ˜›

I must admit that this elephant triptych is not the best edited picture I’ve ever made. But I think being able to express my thought in this kind of work is a blessing, and one’s ability can be improved. So, although I probably would think differently about this work in the future, I will personally appreciate it at the moment. πŸ™‚

[via Daily Prompt: Ruminate]

Author:

'Cause all I wanted to do is be the Bruce Lee of loose leaf / Abused ink, used it as a tool when I blew steam [Eminem - Rap God]

Leave a Reply

