Posted in Space

Stop Listening to Sad Songs!

08. Mayday - Sad People Shouldn't Listen to Slow Songs

This morning I read a digital letter written by my friend. It is a letter about waking up after a great depression. The letter reminds me of the song above: a song from Mayday, a Taiwanese band. The title, “傷心的人別聽慢歌 (Shāngxīn De Rén Bié Tīng Màn Gē),” has a unique meaning: “Sad People Shouldn’t Listen to Slow Songs.” Below is the translation of the refrain part.

Don’t ask anymore, who is right, who is wrong, who is and who isn’t, who owes who
Already wrong after all, already lose after all, one accompany oneself happiness after all
I don’t care who are you belong to, who is yours, I am mine
Let the heart beats, moving, moving, moving, moving, feeling alive
I don’t care whether standing, sitting, lying upside, lying on back, all must be happy
Let the music moving, moving, moving, moving, almost deaf
Don’t care anymore, don’t think anymore, don’t wait anymore, don’t be unhappy
Sad people shouldn’t listen to slow songs

(Source: JpopAsia)

Some people tend to listen slow songs when they are sad. I did the same too, most of the times. I did so to create an atmosphere where I could reflect what happened in my life. However, the melancholy the slow songs brought mostly made me need more time to wake up. The songs made me think deeply, indeed, but most of the songs just gave me approval to my sorrow, instead of giving an insight so that I could get up and look at the life road in front of me. I was carried away by the songs, I can say. The positive energy from the slow songs were absorbed longer than it supposed to be.

Then I listened to this song, and the lyrics changed my point of view (after I read the translation, of course 😀 ). The song really makes sense to me. You have the right to feel sad, cry, and enjoy your sorrow. On the other hand, in such situation, you need a positive boost that can make you get up and put on a smile for people around you. When you take time for yourself and think of everything, the upbeat songs can help you, because the songs can understand your feelings. They don’t necessarily give approval on your sorrow, but they also invite you to round off that feeling and get back on with your life.

You deserve the happiness. 🙂

Note: The music video with English translation is available on YouTube.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Helpless.”

Author:

'Cause all I wanted to do is be the Bruce Lee of loose leaf / Abused ink, used it as a tool when I blew steam [Eminem - Rap God]

Leave a Reply

