Posted in Diary

It is Not Too Late to Try

thankful

I’m a member of a student government in my collegewe call it Badan Eksekutif Mahasiswa (Student Executive Board), abbreviated as BEM, in Indonesia. There are five coordinating ministries that divided into eleven ministries. I’m a staff of the Information Media Ministry, under the Coordinating Ministry of Talent and Interest. Like its name, this ministry deals with media, so all the staffs are expected to have the ability to cover up all medias used by students, like websites, social medias, and even social messengers, that, as we know, have gone beyond newspapers and magazines. We are also expected (and trained) to be informative and to be able to attract students’ interest in politics in the college using articles, pictures, and videos. This is an interesting job for me, because I think this is one of my passions.

The minister, Dede, divides his staffs into several teams: website team, video team, social media team, and design team. I was actually a part of the website team, but Dede asked me to be the secretary plus treasurer of the ministry, because it is likely to be better if the website is coordinated only by one person. Although I’m not a part of any particular teams, Dede allows me to gather and learn together with them. Well, yeah, it’s not only to learn together, but I also can charge the monthly cash, hahaha. 😀

Four days ago, when the design team gathered in the office, I was there too and join their meeting. Dede shared a pack of resources for designing, so that the design made by the design team will have a characteristic. I got the resources too, and I am allowed to make my design for the BEM too.

This simple picture is my first try to make a cute drawing. Well, I think any of you should have known what’s in the picture: a girl in a not-so-lovely garden. No, this is not how the design from the design team looks like. The team’s design is more professional and classy.

I’m not a professional designer. Sometimes I got the concept but couldn’t execute it well into the real form. After I’m learning with Dede and the other staffs, I get my confidence that I can design professionally. I think I probably really belong to this ministry family. I know I can do it if I’m serious and working hard for it. It’s never too late to start learning new things.

I’ve been in love with designing since a long time ago, but this is the first time when I’m really confidence with what I’m doing. Although many people has said that I’m good at it, but I never feel supported like this time. Maybe this picture can tell about my feelings too: I’m thankful to God for everything He has given me. 🙂

Author:

'Cause all I wanted to do is be the Bruce Lee of loose leaf / Abused ink, used it as a tool when I blew steam [Eminem - Rap God]

2 thoughts on “It is Not Too Late to Try

Leave a Reply

